Brighton’s Best Independent Bookseller

Shop 3 Dendy Plaza 26 Church St Brighton, Victoria, 3186

PH: (03) 9553 8033

The Caretakers

AUTHOR: Amanda Bestor-Siegal

'Thrilling and deeply moving, gorgeously written and intricately plotted, morally complex and surprising and sweeping and intimate, with some of the most indelible and heart-breaking characters I have ever encountered in a novel. It's a bold and brilliant book' Elizabeth McCracken In the smart Parisian suburb of Maisons-Larue, in the wake of the Paris 2015 terrorist attacks, an au pair is arrested after the sudden and suspicious death of her nine-year-old charge... The truth behind what happened is unravelled through six women: Geraldine, a heartbroken French teacher who struggles to connect with her vulnerable students; Lou, an incompetent au pair fired by the family next door; Charlotte, a chilly socialite and reluctant mother; Holly, an anxious au pair who yearns to feel at home in Paris; Nathalie, an isolated French teenager desperate for her mother's attention; and finally, Alena, the au pair accused of killing a child... For fans of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies, The Caretakers is a compulsive and gripping debut about who takes care of children, the yearning for belonging that extends beyond the homes left behind, and issues of identity, privilege, and class in both American and French culture.

Trading Hours

trading hour

We are instore for click and collect
MON - FRI: 9AM - 5.30PM             
SAT: 9AM-6PM
SUN: 10AM-5PM

Location & Parking

  • You can find us at street level under the Dendy Palace Cinema, Brighton.
  • There is ample parking (90 minutes free) with an entry via St Andrews St.
  • Dogs are welcome!

Contact Details

contact map

Shop 3 Dendy Plaza
26 Church St
Brighton, Victoria, 3186
PH: (03) 9553 8033
FAX: (03) 9592 6955

Email: enquiries@toptitles.com.au